THE CROWNPRINCES HUSSARS
The regiment traces its heritage to a hussarcorps raised in 1757 by
Putbus and von Platen. The next year the corps was transformed into the Swedish hussarregiment
that was located on Rügen. The first commander was George Gustaf Wrangel. In 1762
the regiment was split into the Blue (Putbusska ) hussars and the Yellow
(Wrangelska) hussars. In 1766 the two regiments remerged into the Royal hussars or
as it was called after 1801 the Mernerska hussarregiment. In 1816 it was named
the Cederströmska hussarregiment and in 1822, when the crownprince Oscar assumed
command of the regiment, it was renamed the Crownprinces hussars. During the
reign of Carl XV it was first called the Kings enlisted hussars and from 1860 the
Hussarregiment King Carl XV. In 1882 it recieved its final name. The regiment was
located in Malmö and merged with the Scanian hussars and the Scanian
dragoons to form the Scanian cavalryregiment in 1928.
The regiments color was darkblue. The standard belonging to the
regiment was an honorary standard awarded to the regiment in 1816 for its performance in
the battle of Bornhöft.
7th December, the anniversery of the battle of Bornhöft.