During the 1600: and 1700:s some engineerunits were organized but these
were quickly disbanded. The fortifikation has an uninterrupted history since 1635 however.
The present engineer corps was founded in 1855. In 1901 four regiments were decided upon
and in 1937 the telegraphcorps was broken out of the engineers to found a branch of its
own. Three units were left but one was disbanded in 1997.
The defence decision of 2000 ruled that Ing 2 alone is to be
resonsible for all engineer units raised.