ROYAL SMÅLANDS HUSSARS
The regiment traces its heritage to the cavalry raised in Kronoberg and
Kalmar in 1543 that eventually was named Smålands cavalry. In 1801 the name was
changed to Smålands light dragoons and in 1806 it was changed again to Smålands
dragoonregiment. In 1812 part of the regiment was transferred to the infantry under
the name Smålands dragoonregiments infantrybattalion. This battalion later
became part of Karlskrona grenadierregiment. The remaining cavalry got its final
name in 1822. The regiment was located in Eksjö and was disbanded in 1927.
The regiments colors where red and yellow. The standard was yellow with
the heraldic sign of Småland, the standing lion with the crossbow, in red.
THE CROSSING OF THE BÄLT 1658