ROYAL KALMAR REGIMENT
The regiment traces its history to the infantry raised in Småland in
the 1500:s. The oldest documents are from 1553. This infantry was used by Gustaf II Adolf
to form a regiment that in 1623 was split into two smaller regiments of which one became
Kalmar regiment. The first commander was Patrik Ruthwen. It was located in Eksjö. In 1928
it was merged with Jönköpings regiment to form northern Smålands regiment that still is
located in Eksjö.
The regiments color was red with yellow flames going from the corners
to the middle with the heraldic symbol of Småland (the standing lion with the crossbow)
in the middle.
THE CROSSING OF THE BÄLT 1658